The lights

Light, a ray of hope
“A RAY OF HOPE, A RAY OF SUNSHINE”

SUNRISE ended with the SUNSET.
As dawn and the dusk met.
Birds cacophanied, animals cried.
And then tired,
They laid to rest.
And so did mankind, after the day’s quest.
Little did this Manifest World know,
You were present althrough, although.

A shimmering light,
To guide the sight, & hold the world tight.
Some did fight,
But you showed the right.
For we flicker, flicker and flicker;
But you saved us from the falter.

And as I sat under the opalescent evening sky,
Stretching far beyond—-
Till the end my eyes could behold.
Somewhere in the melodies and whispers
Of the orb around,
I think I heard you.
Perhaps it was you who said,
In a voice, half soft, half disarrayed—- “You know,
Life is a Kaleidoscope. You–its intended yet abstract motif.
Quite obvious.
And I?
The more felt, more needed but lesser accepted;                                                               The true obvious amidst the unobvious.

And only then did the epiphany hit.
All this while,
You were the Ray to my Kaleidoscope.
My HOPE,
My BELIEF.

~~~Manidipa.

 

 

This doesn’t exactly go with the word Astral but I’d like to draw the juxtapositions and resemblances.

  • JUST LIKE THE STARLIGHT, THE RAYS IN MY POEM ARE OMNIPRESENT.
  • “A SHIMMERING LIGHT”: YOU CAN INTERPRET THAT AS THE LIGHT FROM THE STARS AS WELL.
  • “TO GUIDE THE SIGHT”: OF COURSE YOU CANNOT EXPECT THE STAR’S GLIMMERING LIGHTS TO GUIDE YOU THROUGH A DARK FOREST (I.E. IF YOU ARE READING IN BETWEEN THE LINES)
  • ALSO GOOGLE SAYS THAT ASTRAL MEANS “relating to a supposed non-physical realm of existence to which various psychic and paranormal phenomena are ascribed, and in which the physical human body is said to have a counterpart.” AND I BELIEVE THE PERSON IN THIS POEM OF MINE IS A PART OF ONE SUCH INTANGIBLE IMAGINARY REALM (MAY BE A SUB-CONSCIOUS DREAM OR REVERIE?)

P.s. Sorry for my terrible sense of poetry, something at which I am not really much skilled. It is just the manifestation of one afternoon’s muse. And tried it after a very very long time(and it’s some 5 months old already).

Please share your thoughts on this one. I would love to know what you think about it.

JUST A NOTE: What I actually tried to mean through this poem is: For all the phenomena taking place around you, you need light to see. An object is either reflecting, refracting or absorbing light. And what you see is the light they reflect. Without light, we are honestly nothing in the dark. Similarly, we are nothing without Hope in the dark den of despair and gloom and failure.

Also MANIFEST WORLD would mean the world we see, hear and perceive. The apparent, visible world. 

Do check out another poem I wrote on HOPE IT’S NOT REGRET, IT’S HOPE . I am not much of a poetess. It’s just that sometimes I feel like writing and a poem helps me express better than a piece of paragraph.

  • ALL PHOTOS CLICKED BY ME(The 2 on this post that you behold are sunset shots at the River Ganges in KOLKATA, the City Of Joy. For some more pictures of this amazing city, you may visit my INSTAGRAM Account)

49 thoughts on “THE LIGHTS

    1. Oh MY Gosh. I am really humbled by your words. Loads and loads of thanks for appreciating my work. Thanx for looking through my posts. It really really means a lot to a beginner like me. 🙂 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And I’ll be looking forward to your posts although I’ll havbe to take a break from blogging for the next few weeks for my exams. But I’ll surely catch up with your posts once my exams are over. Have a good day. Keep safe and keep smiling. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. You’re an awesome poet… and your rhyme is really on point…

    Im one of those people who rhyme by mistake and spend the entire day in a cloud cause I freaking rhymed!!!!!!!! 😂😂😂😂

    I’m crazy so I’m just going to go now😂😂😂

    Wait… Have you tried writing haikus?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh my! I wish I could let my tears flow…. I am so so happy seeing this comment of yours. You didn’t win the French war, you never let the war start and that is why you are so so kind. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
      You make me so so so so happy.
      Finding a deeper interest in poetry has been very recent. For now, I only let my thoughts flow randomly. I’d need a better command over the language as well as my thoughts for Haiku. I’d surely try writing them when I am a free bird, free from my so damn lover named Exam. 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛
      And thanx once again, Babes. 😘😘😘😘😘😘

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Wilkommeeennnnnnnnnnnnn *breaks out into German gibberish*

        I make you happy😭😭😭😭… That felt like a trip to the moon and back tbh😂😍

        *starts dancing to the star trek soundtracks while imagining to be lieutenant Saru*

        Exams are so clingy and rarely buy you gifts you should get a divorce… That relationship will strain you… And yes… I know your poetry is going somewhere and your haikus will be awesome😍😍😍😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Miss Badass knows German as well? That’s cool!
        Oh my! Take me to your trip to the moon as well….please!!!!!
        I think I am dancing as well! Thank you again! ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤
        But only sadness is that my lover is not gonna give me divorce, even if I file a case! I'd rather leave him after sometime and let him take other victims! XD XD XD XD! 😛 😛 😛 😛 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment